Who eats all my pies?

All is coming so nicely together with my new food business. I have been selling a changing salad ‘lunch box’which this week was Piedmonte roasted Pepper with sweetcorn fritters and a rocket salad with sourdough and parmesan crumbs. There are a selection of £1 ‘snacks’ including Aubergine 2 Ways on a Crisp Pitta, savoury pasties with creative vegetarian fillings  at Churchill Square on Wednesdays and curries with salads and chutneys at Upper Gardner Street market on Saturdays. 

I am not a vegetarian yet CanTina is a vegetarian business and what started by chance is now something I am very pleased with and proud of. I love cooking this kind of fare and have been getting some wonderful local produce and using and tweeking some great recipes.

One of my weekly staples that is always well received is the butternut squash and feta pastries. It is one that I have modified from the fantastic Moro cookbook and use often at my stalls and for other events. Essentially the pasty is a flat bread dough which needs no proving so is a simple as can be.

I have added some crushed cumin seed to the dough which I think works well but apart from that the recipe is pretty much as is….Oh and I always make the butternut filling a day in advance to allow it time to cool.

To make about 6 or 7
Filling
1 small butternut squash, peeling and sliced into even pieces
1 tbsp Olive oil
½ tsp fennel seeds
½ tsp coriander seeds (crushed)
¼ tsp chilli flakes
Sea salt and pepper
100g crumbled feta
1 good tbsp of picked fresh thyme

2 tbsp toasted pine nuts (optional)


Dough
220g Strong Bread Flour
100ml warm water
½ teaspoon dried yeast
2 tablespoons olive oil
Sea salt and ½ teaspoon of cumin seed (lighty crushed)

1. Put the SQUASH into a bowl with 1 tbls OLIVE OIL, 1 tsp FENNEL SEED, 1 tsp CRUSHED CORIANDER SEED, ½ tsp CHILLI mix with your hands then spread on a tray and roast in a hot oven until tender  – about 20 minutes. Leave until completely cold

2. To make the dough mix the flour, salt and cumin together.  Separately mix  yeast into the water until it dissolves, stir in the olive oil. Combine the dry and wet and mix until you form a dough…..knead for about 5 minutes until smooth and elastic.

3. To make the pastries take a walnut sized piece of dough and roll out to form a disk about 3mm thick. Add a blob of the butternut (about a pudding spoon), a teaspoon of feta and a sprinkling of thyme and pinenuts. Dampen the edge with water and form a triangle by pinching the edges together.

4. Bake the pastries in a hot 220°C oven for about 15 minutes until lightly browned.

I always serve these with yoghurt flavoured with cumin and smoked paprika and some of the pineapple chutney that I am included on here.
If you fancy eating these but can’t be bothered to make them then come and see me at any of my markets. Oh and I also make them for events and parties!! Plug Plug Plug

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

