Mr Wolfe, me and Pop up

I know a long black from an Americano, a latte from a flat white.  Though I am certainly no expert I do like – read addicted – my daily coffee. It was through a recommendation via twitter from  Sam of  www.samsofbrighton.co.uk that I discovered and fell in love with Mr Wolfe www.mrwolfe.co.uk. This relative newcomer to Brightons growing ‘know what we are doing’ coffee scene arrived a few months ago and is neatly tucked in Montpelier. They add to  handful of  Brighton and Hove coffee house’s who give attention to bean, machine,  temperature and texture of milk and take real pride in every cup.  Think Coffee @33, Small batch, Ground, Cafe coho,  Marwood, Taylor Street……let me know of more!

Mr Wolfe is run by owning husband and wife team the gorgeous Kat and Travis. Originating  from Melbourne both  are designers  which  is evident in the space utilisation  of their small  perfectly formed cafe.  They use  wood, glass, vintage china and some well-chosen retro furnishings and black board walls to create a space that has a real tranquility about it.

Travis makes the coffee, Monmouth on a Marzocco (machine handmade in Florence)  whilst Kat hand bakes all  the cakes which are beautiful in visual and taste. Tall carrot cakes, rich chocolate tarts, almond and star anise loaf  to name a very small selection of her delection…great sourdough toasties,  savoury pies from local supplier Magpies and morning goods from Cocoa www.cocoabrighton.co.uk It took them nearly a year to find the right premises and I think they have landed perfectly.

So I am in love; can you tell? The space really appeals to me; with this in mind and some chatting with Travis and Kat we have decided to collaborate and I am to…erm I think the term is Pop Up at theirs for a lazy Sunday lunch on June 3rd. The kitchen facilities are bespoke but having cooked for a wedding of 120 on a selection of camping stoves I have not let this small detail limit my menu. 4 courses, a FREE welcome cocktail and some live music for £25. Please do check out the menu posted on this here website of mine.

As I write this we are close to being full – have space for 14 but I have a very good feeling my love affair will last and I feel confident we shall continue to engage in culinary cuddles on a frequent basis. I should also mention love for my 14 year old son who took most of these pictures…..Hench (I am so down with the kids)

I shall also be popping up at Brighton Japan www.brightonhjapan.com. Both these events made it to Tuesday’s Argus oh and I have been asked to think about a car park event…so watch this space.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

